West Indies ODI Series: Confident India aim to seal series in Game 2

Ishan Kishan who opened with Rohit in the first ODI did a decent job with a 36-ball 28 and Deepak Hooda and Suryakumar Yadav also did well to end the game for India. If Rahul plays then one of the three among Kishan, Deepak Hooda and Suryakumar will have to sit down to welcome him as Virat Kohli, Rishabh Pant and Rohit Sharma are certain to play.

But management could also opt to play the same XI and win the series and try Rahul, Mayank Agarwal and Shahrukh Khan in the final game of the series.

Speaking on the eve of the match, mid-order hitter Suryakumar also didn’t reveal much about Rahul and Mayank Agarwal’s inclusion in the playing XI.

“They [Rahul and Mayank] come back to the team after quarantine and it makes our unit really stronger. In the end, it all depends on the direction of the team that is going to play. But yeah, really happy to have them back,” Surya told a virtual press conference.

The 35-year-old struck at numbers 3, 4, 5 and 6 for India across the T20 and ODI format and came in at five in the first ODI against West Indies.

“It’s not too different (beating at number five), I’ve hit all positions and I’m really flexible, so wherever the team management decides and wants me to bat, I’m really flexible to hitting any position and really happy with the way things are going right now,” he said.

On the other hand, West Indies, who failed to beat even 50 overs in the first ODI, will be looking to improve their form and get into the series.

The side managed by Kieron Pollard need to put a bigger price on their wicket and have better shot selection. With Jason Holder and Fabian Allen hitting well in Game 1, the rest of the hitters should be good as well.

Windies bowlers also need to be up to speed with line and length as well as pace. They were taken to task by Indian hitters, notably Rohit.

India: Rohit Sharma (Captain), KL Rahul (Vice-Captain), Mayank Agarwal, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli, Surya Kumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Ishan Kishan (Wicket Keeper), Deepak Hooda, Rishabh Pant (Wicket Keeper ), Deepak Chahar, Shardul Thakur, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Washington Sundar, Ravi Bishnoi, Mohd. Siraj, Prasidh Krishna, Avesh Khan, Shahrukh Khan.

West Indies: Kieron Pollard (captain), Fabian Allen, Nkrumah Bonner, Darren Bravo, Shamarh Brooks, Jason Holder, Shai Hope, Akeal Hosein, Alzarri Joseph, Brandon King, Nicolas Pooran, Kemar Roach, Romario Shepard, Odean Smith, Hayden Walsh Jr.

Comments are closed.