India Seal series with 44 wins

had the last laugh.

The Indian team posted 237 for 9 after a 91-point stand between KL Rahul and Suryakuamar on Wednesday. Suryakumar scored the most with an 83-ball 64 while Rahul contributed with a 49-point shot. For West Indies, Alzarri Joseph and Odean Smith scalped 2 wickets each while Kemar Roach, Jason Holder, Akeal Hosein and Fabian Allen picked one wicket each.

India will look to continue their dominance and win the second ODI and seal the three-game series at Narendra Modi Stadium on Wednesday. Given that India didn’t have much trouble overcoming West Indies in the first game, the hosts are unlikely to make any changes to their playing XI. However, the focus will be on the vice- captain KL Rahul who joined the team after a family engagement and was seen sweating in the net before the game.

Ishan Kishan who opened with Rohit in the first ODI did a decent job with a 36-ball 28 and Deepak Hooda and Suryakumar Yadav also did well to end the game for India. If Rahul plays then one of the three among Kishan, Deepak Hooda and Suryakumar will have to sit down to welcome him as Virat Kohli, Rishabh Pant and Rohit Sharma are certain to play.

But management could also opt to play the same XI and win the series and try Rahul, Mayank Agarwal and Shahrukh Khan in the final game of the series.

Eyes will also be on Virat Kohli, who will love to find himself among the tracks and reach his 71st century, expected for more than two years.

In the bowling department, India had a clinical outing in the previous match, so the team management is unlikely to make any changes. The likes of Washington Sundar, Mohammed Siraj, Yuzvendra Chahal, Prasidh Krishna, Shardul Thakur had limited the visitors to a below average target in the first ODI.

On the other hand, West Indies, who didn’t even play 50 overs in the first ODI, will be looking to improve their form and get into the series. Windies bowlers also need to be up to speed with line and length as well as pace. They were taken to task by Indian hitters, notably Rohit.

Complete teams

India: Rohit Sharma (Captain), KL Rahul (Vice-Captain), Mayank Agarwal, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli, Surya Kumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Ishan Kishan (Wicket Keeper), Deepak Hooda, Rishabh Pant (Wicket Keeper ), Deepak Chahar, Shardul Thakur, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Washington Sundar, Ravi Bishnoi, Mohd. Siraj, Prasidh Krishna, Avesh Khan, Shahrukh Khan.

West Indies: Kieron Pollard (captain), Fabian Allen, Nkrumah Bonner, Darren Bravo, Shamarh Brooks, Jason Holder, Shai Hope, Akeal Hosein, Alzarri Joseph, Brandon King, Nicolas Pooran, Kemar Roach, Romario Shepard, Odean Smith, Hayden Walsh Jr

Get all IPL news and cricket score here

Comments are closed.