Hosts seek to seal series, eyes on Rohit-Virat partnership – The New Indian Express


AHMEDABAD: After winning the first ODI against West Indies, the Rohit Sharma-led side will now look to win the second game and seal the three-game series with one game to play.

India and West Indies will face off in the second ODI on Wednesday at the Narendra Modi Stadium. Rohit and the boys sealed a comfortable six-wicket win in the first ODI and the Men in Blue didn’t have to sweat it.

Chasing 176 in the first ODI, Rohit Sharma’s blitz with the bat helped India stay ahead in the chase throughout, and in the end the hosts secured a comfortable six-wicket victory. However, Virat Kohli and Ishan Kishan’s poor shot selection left a lot to think about.

It’s been two years since Virat last scored a century and in the first ODI against Windies it looked like Virat was a bit arrogant in his style of play and he played aerial shots quite early in his innings . He eventually came out hooking a bouncer and he just managed to score eight runs.

Kishan managed to score 28 goals but there was no need for him to sweep Akeal Hosein’s bowling alley as India headed into the game. Without Rohit’s 60 India might have struggled to chase 177. Suryakumar Yadav and Deepak Hooda played unbeaten cameos and with the return of KL Rahul in the second ODI it has to be seen who lets management down.

READ ALSO: The Antilles caught in a spin, the Rohit Sharma era begins with a victory

Bowling was sought after in the first ODI after Washington Sundar and Yuzvendra Chahal weaved a web over the visitors. Prasidh Krishna and Mohammed Siraj were also impressed with the ball and the hosts hope the same.

Speaking of the West Indies, only Jason Holder and Fabien Allen fought with the bat and the visitors were hoping for more top-notch runs. Alzarri Joseph is impressed with the ball and if the Windies manage to post more runs the visitors have the bowling to cause headaches in the Indian side.

Squads: India: Rohit Sharma (c), Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Mayank Agarwal, Suryakumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Deepak Hooda, Washington Sundar, KL Rahul, Rishabh Pant, Deepak Chahar, Shardul Thakur, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Ravi Bishnoi, Mohammed Siraj, Prasidh Krishna, Avesh Khan.

Antilles: Kieron Pollard (c), Kemar Roach, Nkrumah Bonner, Brandon King, Fabien Allen, Darren Bravo, Shamarh Brooks, Jason Holder, Shai Hope, Akeal Hosein, Alzarri Joseph, Nicholas Pooran, Romario Shephard, Odean Smith, Hayden Walsh Jr .

Comments are closed.